Wednesday, July 4

Happy 4th of July! Today I am not feeling too good. We went on an hour boat ride to an island in Lake Bunyonyi to see the pigme people. I am not really sure how I felt about this experience for many reasons. First, the hour boat ride was necessary to get there, but being on a boat for an hour did not help my upset stomach or headache. Second, to get to the village we had to hike up a small mountain. I am not exaggerating when I say it was a small mountain. I was seriously concerned for myself if I was going to make it to the top or not. Luckily, we had some younger kids helping us during the hike to get to the top. In the end I made it, and I felt like I was invincible. Once we were at the top, we got to see a performance that the pigme people put on for us. During this performance, they danced, sang, and chanted. After they were done, we were allowed to shop and buy some of the stuff that they were selling. After we were done shopping we got to go to the school and hear them sing and watch them dance. After that was done, we walked back down the small mountain and loaded back onto the boat to ride back to our lodge. The experience on top of the small mountain was definitely an interesting one and I am not sure how I feel about it. On one hand I realize that this is how they make money and earn a living, but on the other hand I feel like we were treating them as though they are different than us. I felt as though they were being treated as an attraction and I don’t really like that. Overall I am stuck in the middle on how I felt about today’s events as a whole.

Favorite part of the day: Feeling like I was invincible after climbing the mountain

Least favorite part of the day: I did not feel very good today

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑